International Conference on
Global Trends in Tourism Studies

28th - 29th September 2019, KITTS, Thiruvananthapuram.

“A better future for all”

Organized in connection with the
Pearl Jubilee Celebrations of Kerala Institute of Tourism & Travel Studies (KITTS)

About The Event

About The Event

KITTS is organising an International Conference on Global Trends in Tourism Studies as part of its Pearl Jubilee Celebrations on 28th and 29th September 2019 at its headquarters located at Thiruvananthapuram. The Conference is conceived in the backdrop of India being the host country for UNWTO World Tourism Day Celebrations with the theme of the year being "Tourism and Jobs: A better future for all." The proposed conference intends to start with a plenary session "A Retrospective Journey on 30 Years of Kerala Tourism." Kerala declared tourism as an industry in 1986 and the plenary session is conceived in this context. The two day programme will further deliberate on Tourism & Technology, Heritage Tourism, Adventure Tourism, Gastronomy Tourism, MICE & Cruise Tourism, Luxury & Wellness Tourism in six sessions. Mr. Hae Guk Hwang, Deputy Director, Regional Department for Asia and the Pacific, UNWTO shall be the Guest of Honour for the Inaugural function. Around 40 speakers including tourism Administrators and key tourism industrialists from Indian and Kerala will deliver lecture during the conference.

Programme Schedule



Plenary session: A Retrospective Journey on 30 Years of Kerala Tourism


- Mr. T. Balakrishnan IAS (Rtd), Former Principal Secretary, Kerala Tourism
- Dr. Venu V. IAS, Addl. Chief Secretary, Revenue, Govt. of Kerala & Former Principal Secretary, Kerala Tourism
- Smt. Rani George IAS, Secretary, Kerala Tourism
- Mr. Dipak Deva, Managing Director, SITA, Kuoni Group, New Delhi
- Mr. Sudhir Patil, Founder & Director, Veena World Travel, Mumbai
- Mr. K.C. Chandrahasan, Vice Chairman, Kerala Travels Interserve Ltd.
- Mr. Prabhat Verma, Executive Vice President – Operations, South India, International & Ancillary Businesses, Taj Hotels, Resorts & Palaces


- Mr. E. M. Najeeb, Sr. Vice President, IATO & Member NTAC


Technical session 1 - Tourism & Technology


- Dr. Sandeep Kulshreshtha, Director, Indian Institute of Tourism & Travel Management (IITTM), Gwalior
- Mr. M.C. Samir, MD, Fortune Parks Hotels Ltd & WelcomHeritage, New Delhi
- Mr. Balu Ramachandran, Senior Vice President,
- Mr. Neelkanth Pararath, Founder & CTO of CRS Technologies India Pvt. Ltd.
- Mr. Shiju R., Founder & CEO,


- Mr. Anand Parthsarathy, Editor, IndiaTechOnline

Tea Break

Technical session 2 –Heritage Tourism


- Mr. Steve Borgia, Honorary Vice President, Indian Heritage Hotels Association
- Dr. Rima Hooja, Renowned Author & Conservationist
- Mr. Benny Kuriakose, Architect & Consultant, Muziris Heritage Project
- Dr. Hemachandran S, Former Director, Kerala Archaeological Department


- Mr. U V Jose IAS, Director, Life Mission, Kerala & Former Director, Kerala Tourism

Dinner & Cultural Programme

Technical & Knowledge Sessions

Technical sessions 3 - Adventure Tourism


- Mr. P.Bala kiran IAS, Director, Kerala Tourism
- Mr. Akshay Kumar,CEO, Mercury Himalayan Expeditions, New Delhi
- Mr. Rajesh Ojha, Co-Founder, Banjara Camps, Himachal Pradesh
- Mr. Chewang Motup Goba, MD, Rimo Expeditions
- Cdr.Sam T. Samuel, MD, Kalypso Adventures
- Mr. Manesh Bhaskar, CEO, Kerala Adventure Tourism Promotion Society (KATPS)


Mr. Pradeep Murthy, MD, Muddy Boots

Tea Break

Technical session 4 - Gastronomy Tourism


- Mr. Das Sridhar, MD, Rasa Group of Restaurants, London
- Mr. Suresh Pillai, Corporate Head Chef, Raviz Hotels & Resorts & Former Chef, Michelin Starred Restaurants, London
- Mr. Moosa C.P. & Faiza Moosa, Ayisha Manzil Homestay, Thalassery
- Mrs. Nimmy Paul, Author & Culinary Specialist, Ernakulam


Mr. Raja Gopaal Iyer, CEO, Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa


Technical session 5 - MICE & Cruise Tourism



- Mr. Chander Mansharamani, Vice Chairman, India Convention Promotion Board & MD, Alpcord Network Travel & Conference Management
- Mr. Manish Poddar, Director, Orient Express

Cruise Tourism

- Mr. Michael Haider Ali, MD, Micato Safaris, India


Mr. Sejoe Jose - Chairman, IATO, Kerala Chapters

Technical session 6 –Luxury & Wellness Tourism


Luxury Tourism

- Mr. Thomas John Muthoot, Chairman, Muthoot Pappachan Group & Vice Chairman, CII, Kerala Chapter

- Mr. Dinesh Bhaskar, Former Group Director, Sales & Marketing, Atmosphere Hotels & Resorts, Maldives

Wellness Tourism

- Mr. Baby Mathew - President, Kerala Travel Mart Society & CMD, Somatheeram Ayurveda Group


Mr. Dileep Kumar P. I., General Manager, The Leela Raviz, Kovalam

Tea Break

Concluding Session & Valedictory Function

Delegates Registration

Registration Fee for delegates (Indians): Rs.3000/-
Registration fee for (Foreigners): USD 300/-
Registration fee for Students & Research Scholars: Rs.2000/-
Account Name: Director KITTS
Account Number: 67183005218
IFS Code: SBIN0070033
Bank Name & Branch: SBI Vazhuthacaud
Swift Code for International transaction: SBININBBT06
NB:After completing the payment successfully the details should be shared to this mail

Event Venue

Conference Secretariat


Dr. Rajashree Ajith - Director, KITTS
Email: - Mob: +91-9847064813

Vice Chairman:

Dr. Rajendran B. - Principal, KITTS
Email: - Mob: +91-9447134484


Smt. Manju S. - Sr. Administrative Officer
Email: - Mob: +91-9446452035

Co-ordinator Programmes:

Mr. Saroop Roy B.R. - Asst. Professor & Co-ordinator
Centre for Responsible Tourism
Email: - Mob: +91-8111823377

Core Committee:

Dr. Venugopal C.K. -
Mob: + 91-9446068080 (Food & Accommodations)

Smt. Sindhu S. -
Mob: +91-9446529467 (Academic Co-ordination)

Shri. Babu Rengaraj -
Mob: + 91-9447013046 (Food & Accommodations)

Shri. Harikrishnan P.K. -
Mob: + 91-9847273135 (Logistics)

Dr. Niruba Sethukumari S. -
Mob: + 91-9895060702 (Reception Committee)